The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up

Hello again! It has been quite a while since I’ve written a blog post. In case you were wondering, I am still alive and well haha! I started working again, and so I don’t have as much free time as I once did.

But I wanted to write a quick post about a book I finished recently – “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up” by Marie Kondo. First of all, it was a very fun read. The author is engaging and funny, and I like that she straight up admits that, while she loves to organize, she has not always been very good at it.

51Kz4zmXqbL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

There are a lot of things you could take away from the book, but there are 3 main things that really stuck with me.

“Spark Joy”

The first is her phrase “spark joy”. Basically, before you bring something into your home, or when deciding whether to keep something in your house, ask yourself, “Does this spark joy?” And if the answer is no, then give it away, throw it out, or put it back on the shelf.

“Where are you placing your energy?”

A lot of her philosophies are based on the idea that objects contain energy, and when we handle objects, we transfer our energy into them and into that space. And if our space is filled with a lot of objects that don’t bring us joy, then instead of being calm and happy in our space, we are stressed and on edge. So choose to be surrounded by objects that are useful, calming, and that bring you joy.

“What is this object’s purpose?”

One last thing that really had an impact on me was her idea that each object has a purpose. If someone sends you a card, then your receipt of the card and acknowledgement of that person’s thoughtfulness fulfills the card’s purpose. If looking at that card on your fridge for a few weeks sparks joy, then by all means keep it there. But if that card is hiding something else that is more important to see, or gets buried underneath a pile of papers somewhere, it is not “happy”, because it has fulfilled it’s purpose, and now needs another purpose. She suggests talking to your objects – so in the instance of the card, saying something like “Thank you, card. I felt loved when I read you and saw how much my Mother cared for me.”, then recycle the card and give it another purpose. It sounds odd, but there is such peace in that simple act. I haven’t subscribed to the whole KonMari method as of yet, but I have tried doing that with a few objects, and it really has made a difference in how I handle my things and how I “tidy up”.


So those were my thoughts on the book – let me know what you thought if you have read it, or if there is another good book you are reading.

Cheers!

– Melissa

Leave a Reply

