Trader Joe’s Beauty and Health

Hey guys! So, a few weeks ago I wrote a blog post about natural beauty. After I wrote that post, I went to Trader Joe’s and picked up a few things that I wanted to review for you guys in case you were curious about buying some natural health/beauty items.

So here goes!

trader joe's beautyI picked up 4 items – the Tea Tree Tingle Shampoo and Conditioner, the Tea Tree Natural Facial Cleansing Pads, and the Peppermint Toothpaste. Let’s start with the shampoo and conditioner:

P1040293

P1040294

First of all, let me just say that these smell AMAZING. They remind me a lot of an Aveda shampoo that my Mom used to buy (I don’t remember what it was called, but it was a purple shampoo for blondes). These were both $3.99 each, which in and of itself is super cheap for shampoo and conditioner nowadays. They also come in 16 fl. oz containers, which is also amazing.

P1040296P1040297

These are the ingredient lists on the conditioner and shampoo, respectively. There is no sulfate or parabens or artificial dyes, and tons of natural yummy-sounding ingredients from plants and such.

All in all, I give these a big thumbs up. They smell wonderful, work well, and are cheap without being harmful to the hair, so why not?

P1040288

Next up is the tea tree natural facial cleansing pads. First of all, if you’ve not experienced tea tree oil, the smell is very strong. Think vinegar or something of that ilk. I originally bought these to replace my makeup wipes, but the little pads are very small, and didn’t help much with removing makeup. They were cheap, I believe $3.99 for 50 pads, so if you are looking for an acne skin treatment, these would be a good portable option.

P1040290

Summary: I liked the texture of the pads, and I do like that tea tree oil is a natural acne fighter. However, the pads are very small, and the smell is a bit too strong to my liking. I still use them after I’ve washed my face as an acne skin care treatment, but once they are gone, I don’t think that I will repurchase this item.

P1040292

Last is the toothpaste. Now, this toothpaste is pretty big at 6 ounces (I think that the one I had been using was only 3 oz), and was $2.99. At first, I really didn’t like this all that much. It works just fine, and does have a slight minty smell and taste, but it doesn’t have that strong “minty fresh” sensation that you usually get after brushing your teeth, and I felt like I had to use a mouthwash afterwards to get that feeling.

However, I did a side-by-side comparison with my old toothpaste, and was surprised that the one I had been using had PEG-12 (a synthetic ingredient), sodium lauryl sulfate (a foaming agent, one that you are supposed to avoid in shampoo), sodium saccharin (an artificial sweetener), and titanium dioxide (a toxin that has been linked to cancer and other nasty stuff). Also, there was no mint in the old toothpaste at all, as opposed to the lovely sounding Mentha Piperita (Peppermint Oil) in Trader Joe’s toothpaste.

All in all, after realizing that all of that crazy stuff was in my old standby, I think I’m going to keep using this more natural toothpaste. I like that it has fluoride and real ingredients, it doesn’t irritate my sensitive teeth, and once my son gets old enough, I would feel comfortable with him using this toothpaste as well.


So there you go! I hope this helped someone out if they were thinking of purchasing any of these products, or if you are looking for some natural beauty and health alternatives. I love that all of these products have natural, organic ingredients, are all very affordable, and they are all cruelty-free as well. If you’ve got any suggestions for products to try at Trader Joe’s, please let me know! I’d like to try a few more the next time that I’m there.

I’ve got some more beauty posts and tutorials coming up soon, so keep an eye out for those, and I hope you all are having a great day!

Cheers!

– Melissa

One thought on “Trader Joe’s Beauty and Health

Leave a Reply

